EFFECTIVE ENGLISH LANGUAGE TEACHING & ASSESSMENT

vignette and critics

Posted on: October 14, 2010

In second week PETA class, I thought Mr. Iwan really did a very good preparation to plan the lesson. The lesson was in a good order and I could understand well. I could watch a form of effective teaching in an elementary school and we could criticize the way teacher teach the lesson. I could deliver some ideas on my mind without feel scare that other students will “woo” me as I felt in my high school.

Unfortunately, the time given to read the vignette is too short. I could not fully understand what was written on the text, there were some words that I did not understand. I thought it needs more time to read the vignette comprehensively. However, it just a small part of lack in using vignette but there are a lot of beneficial things if we use vignette as a tools in our class.

There were some activities that allowed me to work in a group and discuss some topics through vignette. This vignette brings some cases happened in educational field and we can learn based on a problem. It was about teaching method and we can discuss which it is as effective teaching or not. This second meeting let us have many discussions and encourage our critical thinking. I thought it was so good to let students work in group and discuss, they can develop a new understanding on their mind and lecture can guide them to reach the understanding. I personally think that vignette approach can reflect to my experience when I was in high school about the way my teacher teaches the lesson to me. I can say whether the method is effective or not, I can see it based on my own perspective. Actually, the meeting is about reflecting to our experience as a learner to see that the learning method is effective or not. As a student I have to give reasons why does the method effective or not effective? Because I have to be responsible to what I saidJ.  In this meeting I give my respond of some cases happen in the way of teaching. It also teaches me that memorizing doesn’t mean that I understand the lesson. A good teacher not only can teach to their selves but can teach the students with enjoy and make the students understand well.

 

 

1 Response to "vignette and critics"

Vignette? well. i was in the group with you…hehe…. I can still remember the vignettes that i got… Mathematics question that does not attract students understanding and also a case when a teacher has to change his plan and take a breakneck speed to cover all materials for examination….i think i have experienced it in my real life too. I always feel that they are not effective.. No matter what the materials are…

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers
October 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031