EFFECTIVE ENGLISH LANGUAGE TEACHING & ASSESSMENT

Archive for October 29th, 2010

On PETA class last Friday, my lecturer ask me to draw the situational in classroom. Because I lost my drawing :-(, I’ll tell you the meaning of the picture.

this is my “similar” picture. the condition in that picture is similar what I was draw last week. The picture means that the teacher use Reception style because the teacher just stand in front of the class and explain without give some example to the student. The teacher is to dominant in the classroom. Maybe for the teacher is better he/she talk in front of class and give the material than do some different style of teaching. I thought that’s not effective because the student doesn’t understand what the teacher explanation. Students like to doing something than just listen the teacher “mengoceh” in class. Sometimes it’s made me headache.

The picture also give me some inspiration that I’ll make the classroom is interesting and try to make my students don’t get headache with my teaching. Gracias 🙂 Rizqi Fadjrin Sec_C

“Think out of the box” is what my lecturers in SSE tell me almost every day. I always try to do that in every class, because it is very important for teacher. I was very confident as I thought I already do that effectively. Until I realized that I didn’t do that in PETA class. It is because when Pak Iwan asked the class to draw learning situation, I just drew a very ordinary learning situation like in the picture while my friends drew learning situation outside of the classroom. At first, I felt that the problem is comes from myself only, then I found that my experience in studying, since I was in elementary school until senior high school, is influencing the picture which I have made. At that time, I used to study in classroom. That is why, my picture is describing learning process that happen in classroom.

That little girl (it was me actually) in the picture is imagining something about her class. She wants her class more enjoyable to learn something. In her imagination, it shows that the students are learning in classroom happily without stress. Unfortunately, there is no interaction between students to students, just teacher to students it is very reception. It means that the knowledge is only come from the teacher, even though the teacher makes the student feel relax.  I wish I can change my main set about the meaning of learning. I will try to change it of course, because teacher is not the only one source that student have.

When my lecturer asked us to draw about what’s on our mind about learning situation, I was not drawing about classrooms, teachers, students, whiteboards, books or others. I was drawing a road. There are a lot of barriers along it which are so many confusing, tiring, crying and depressions. I do not know, when my lecturer gave the instructions to all students to start drawing, I do not mind about classroom, teachers, students even books. I draw it spontaneously. I prefer draw what I usually feel to what I usually look in my learning situation.

What I was drawing means what I reflect to myself about learning. I feel that learning process has barriers that we have to pass. No matter how big or how often those barriers come to me, but how can I survive to go to the next step in learning process. Barrier here means that in my learning process you sometimes feel bored, tired, cried even stressed because you got confused through that process. But I have to say to myself that I can do that even though at the same time I do not know what to do. It likes lying to me.

There are three models of learning. My lecture asked me to classify my picture belongs to which model. Actually I am not really sure about what actually my picture belongs to? I think my picture is not reception. There is no transmission of knowledge from an external source like a teacher. If it belongs to co-construction, I don’t think so because there is no interaction and collaboration with others. I think my picture tend to construction. Even though my picture is not showing about discussion, open-ended learning or discovery but those are happening in my learning process. I still construct myself in learning. I am reading books, doing assignments, discussing within group, etc. In that process I find barriers in learning. The barriers itself can motivate me to try my best or to make me depression. The decision is in my hand. Yah, even though sometimes those barriers make me tired, confused, bored and cried but at the end of the process I am smiling. Because of what? Because I pass all the barriers.

As a teacher candidate, I must understand about models of learning concept. Knowing this concept, I will not teach my students in just one model which is usually applied very dominant in school. I will make my students to really enjoy and have sense of learning in my class. Then I will understand them if they got confused because I have experienced it and will always experience it. Because I am under construction.  Hopefully I can !!

Dedep 🙂

 

Actually, perhaps like some other friends felt, I was confused when I had to show my learning situation by drawing pictures. Besides I am not able to draw very well, for the first time, I also didn’t know what I should draw to express my learning. For a few seconds, I tried to imagined and felt how I learn, once I got it, some pictures, shapes, and imagination suddenly came up from my mind, and… here is my picture.

  • The first thing I drew was the green plant/grass, then I continued to draw the shining sun. Those mean I like learning in a such a green, fresh, cool place and there is a warmness involved.
  • Secondly, drawing a jug that symbolize me, containts of some coins which represent what I know at that time. Then, as you can see, I drew a “question mark” on the jug which means how often and whenever I learn, I feel I should fill the jug, however, this jug is never full.
  • Thridly, I need some people who support, help and be a partner of my learning. For some purposes, whoever they are, I need them for sharing.
  • Forthly, when you see a  cloud above the jug, there is two part of it, the cloudy and the shining one. Both two part mean that sometimes I am encouraged to learn more, yet sometimes I feel bored, sleepy, and other bad ones.
  • The last, I drew that piccture in a colorfull scretch which means I need various of characteristics and characters to support my learning.

Then, what model of learning do I have? based on my picture above, my learning belongs to constructive model. Why? For my successful learning, of course, I need people for sharing or discussion. However, sometimes my thought doesn’t easily accept what the results because I need to talk to myself first about the information I receive or sometimes I need some time to think aloud first. Therefore, constructive learners are open-ended when they learn but they have a sense to decisive something.

When I am a teacher, perhaps what I feel now about my learning also be felt by my candidate of my students for the next time. hehe. Therefore, what I am thinking is making this reflection really help me to reflect how I implement these concept of learning models into teaching and learning.

That’s all my reflection through the picture above. What I am feeling in the end I write this reflection is “I am so complicated and fussy”.

Thank you,

Diyah 🙂

By : Nice

 

Nice Concept Learning

When I see my drawing, it’s very “unique” (honestly it’s terrible..but at least it has a deep meaning hehe..^-^). In this picture, we may see a classroom that is very crowded and full of laugh because of the comedy that some of the students played. There are a board with “It’s a role play time” written on it, 3 big round tables, 1 monitor screen that shown “The three Stooges of Education”, 18 students and 1 teacher. This kind of situation is truly what comes first in my mind when I have to draw a learning concept. I imagine a class which is focus on the student or student-centered learning. The teacher is only a facilitator in the classroom. Then, it emphasize on the active learning.

Now, I will explain about every detail in the picture. First, the seat arrangement of the classroom in the  picture is circle grouping system that encourages the students’ interaction and cooperation. Then,  there is a monitor screen which indicates that there is technology integration in my learning concept.  Every student in the pictures is having an active participation with expressing their opinion, assessing  their friends and the most important thing, they learn a lot from their peers. The picture shows three  students in front of the class presenting some role play as the three stooges of education. It helps a lot for all the students to learn with fun and meaningful way if the source is not always teacher. Their own friends also contribute in their learning process. They learn to collaborate in exploring the lesson. Thus, this concludes that my learning concept that drawn in the picture are a co-construction model that stated learning is building knowledge with others. This kind of learning concept, concerned with learners construction of meaning through interaction and collaboration with others. Then, all of those criteria have been shown in the picture that I draw. I hope this kind of learning concept will lead me into an effective teacher with a super effective teaching skill. Then, it helps me to be a better prospective English teacher.

by: nico

Once in PETA class my lecture asked me and the entire of the class to draw a picture about the way we learn. I drew a picture that I think is the closest picture which is represent my way of learning.

This is my picture. This picture means that I learn from what I see and then I try to make the connection from my prior knowledge, common sense and my new information. Sometimes I also learn from my intuition, because I think I have sharp feeling (read: sensitive). In my picture above learning process is happen anywhere, means that learning is not only happened in classroom, but also outside the classroom.

My picture also showed the way I got the knowledge. I got it mostly from books, parents, friends, also from the environment. Even this model of learning is a Construction Model, which sees learning as Individual sense making. It does not mean that I do not need help from others. Because of this learning model concerned on construction of meaning through discussion, discovery, open-ended learning, and making connection.

The important thing of my learning model is the process. The process I get the information, the process of interpret my thought and than the process of making the conclusion.

Therefore, When you do your learning process. Just enjoy it and open to all possibilities, and then you will get more than what you expected.

😀


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers
October 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031