EFFECTIVE ENGLISH LANGUAGE TEACHING & ASSESSMENT

Learn, learn, and learn..

Posted on: October 14, 2010

When I heard about PETA, I felt a little bit afraid because I think create an effective teaching is one of the most important ability that I have to master as a teacher candidate. When Pak Iwan introduced this subject in our class, I realized that there are a lot of things to be prepared to make an effective teaching.

I like Pak Iwan’s class when he asks us to work in group, or do the class discussion. last Monday Pak Iwan showed us a video and we also discuss vignettes. I think the discussion about the video is very effective, because we can express our thoughts, and it also give me new point of view.

 

Actually I never think about being a teacher before I entered SSE. I started to think about teacher and teaching from the orientation days in SSE. I have got a lot of knowledge and motivation from the facilitators who delivered materials in those 5 days. I watched videos and heard many about teacher and education which inspiring me to be a good teacher. Maybe the word “good” teacher sounds simple and ordinary, but after I spent my days in SSE I learn what good teacher is, I find that it is not an easy job at all. I do not even think that it is a job anyway… It just like a duty for people who cares about education.

Sometimes my friends and I discuss about what kind of teacher that we going to be someday. Mostly, we think about how to make the class fun and exciting for our students, but when Pak Iwan asked us, “Is it important to make the class fun? And are you sure that “fun” is effective?” It burdens me because honestly, I am afraid I cannot be an effective teacher. I am afraid that if one day I get lack of idea because I have done all of my idea to make the class fun and effective. However, I have learnt from my friends every time we have a group presentation. They always have something new and creative ways to deliver ideas or materials.

My goal is very simple, I just want to make my students like the subject which I teach. In my experience, when you like a subject you will do your best on it. Eventhough I have a lot of anxieties, I am sure that I can reach my goals.

I will be in learning process in my whole life, so I will not stop improving by maximize all the things that I have. Anyway, I have a lot of friends who will assist me too.  So I won’t be afraid no more…

2 Responses to "Learn, learn, and learn.."

hai friend *_^

ehmmm i really sure with your opinion that with learn PETA we can
realized that there are a lot of things to be prepared to make an effective teaching.

and telling about video i mean that is video is very effective, because based we can express our thoughts, and it also give me new point of view. that video can help someone who has visual n musical to get better understand because that video show the real event and doesn’t hard to imagine if the teacher just say it.

Be spirit Arlin… .
I do feel what you feel because I often feel the same thing with you.
Hehe… When reading your reflection, i remembered something that Pak Iwan said in our class. “Fun teaching is ‘yes’ but Meaningful teaching is more ‘yes’. hehe.. meaning that we have one challenge again instead of being fun. Yups… have a meaningful teaching skill …. :p hmmm don’t worry.. i think if we do it by hearth, we can create what we want to achieve. 🙂

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers
October 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031