EFFECTIVE ENGLISH LANGUAGE TEACHING & ASSESSMENT

Can Reflection Be Applied For All Students?

Posted on: January 16, 2011

Writing a reflection paper is one of assessments. With students’ reflection teacher will know the students’ responds about the teaching and learning process. On the other hand, for students reflection can build their motivation in learning. Reflection paper seems very useful for both teacher and students. However, can reflection be applied for all students especial for those who don’t like to write?

Not all of the students like writing. That is what happens to me. Every time the lecturer asks me to write, I’ll say “Uh!”. It is not because I don’t want to do that but I just don’t like that activity. However, consider that I will be a teacher someday; I accustom myself to like writing. Yet, how about other students, who are don’t like to write but don’t have any strong reason to write.

This kind of students will feel lazy to write the reflection paper, even though the teacher has mentioned that there will be scored for the reflection paper. I think there should be a way for teacher to assess students by reflection but not written reflection.

 

 

7 Responses to "Can Reflection Be Applied For All Students?"

Hey, Lina..
we have a same discussion, right??
i think reflection is appropriate for all students..
by reflection we can know what their response..
We only have to adjust the topic for them, so they will not feel difficult to do the reflection..

Yeah, mel. I think you are right. Adjust the interesting topic for them. However, the topic of the lecture is depend on the curriculum. What if the topic is not interesting for them?

wah Lina, I think reflection paper is important for us to reflect what we have gotten. especially for me who intrapersonal. eemm I think, to face the students who don’t like writing like you,, why don’t we ask them to reflect about what they have gotten by drawing..:-) so, I think, reflection is part of learning and appropriate for students….

Thank you for your suggestion, Yani. Drawing is very good example to replace written reflection.

How if we create an oral reflection assessment, Lin? 🙂

Nah, that would be good i think. However, not all of the student like to speak. I think it is very hard to find a method that is suitable for all kinds of students.

why don’t you develop reflection-drama, or reflection using body movement?

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers
January 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31